top of page

About

Maria Malmgren, she/her

I work with people, teams and organizations to help create deep, values-aligned, sustained change. Positive change that is internally powered and has external impact and value.

 

I am a certified coach (PCC, International Coaching Federation) with over 14 years of coaching experience and a career focused on personal and professional leadership development, team and culture change management, people services (recruitment, performance management and coaching) and administration, project and event management. I have experience and familiarity with working at all levels of an organization ~ front line, manager, director, board member (operational and governance) and consultant.

My work is always a co-creative initiative that involves collaboration with team leaders, business owners
and HR professionals. I offer coaching and consulting services that align with and support individuals and
organizations to move forward in a clear, authentic and purposeful way.

Maria Malmgren ChangeWorks Coaching.jpg

Professionally, I have worked in a variety of contexts ~ hospitality, banking, professional services (accounting, legal), local government,  an Indigenous-led organization, a local Chamber ~ with for profit and for benefit organizations. Over my career, I have come to appreciate the immense gifts of re-imagining and re-defining, professionally or organizationally, as required by one's personal growth, professional wellbeing or organizational need.

 

I hold a joint BA in psychology and business, a diploma in accounting, a certificate in municipal governance and umpteen coaching certifications, such as Certified Professional Co-Active Coach (CPCC) with the Co-Active Training Institute, Team Foundations Coaching, Embodied Coaching, and Trauma Sensitive Belief Clearing Coaching, to name a few.

Read more.

Accreditations & Certifications

ICF_Member.png
ICF PCC.png
CCT_CPCC_Badge (1).png
CRR-Global-ORSC-Trained-Badge_edited.png
Love and Work Leader_Maria Malmgren_HBR Logo.png
GTCI_Gateway_Certified_Badge_Standard.png

Personally, I was born in Hawaii, spent my early years in Europe and moved to Canada at the age of eight. I understand the gifts and challenges of a number of roles and labels: female, immigrant, trauma survivor, working single parent, blended family and elder caregiver.

I am an explorer and lover of people, places, ideas and spirit. I am an incurable optimist, and love beauty and fun. I aspire to translating learning to wisdom and creating warm spaces that allow for deep conversation and leave all of us feeling lighter of heart and richer for the connection.

My husband Jeff and I live, work and travel between beautiful Gabriola Island and Vancouver. This allows us to enjoy our family, friends and the fun, magic and beauty of both places. 

Personally and professionally, I try to live my life by following my core values (harder some days than others) and follow my joy.

My project (32).png
More about me

Importantly and humbly, I acknowledge with gratitude and respect that on Gabriola, I live on the traditional ancestral territory of the Hul'q'umi'num' speaking Snuneymuxw First Nation and in Burnaby, I live on the ancestral and unceded homelands of the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ and Sḵwx̱wú7mesh speaking peoples, who have cared for these lands for thousands of years. 

bottom of page